Easiest Cake truffles! No more leftover cake waste.

This past weekend I graduated guys! I technically am not done since I have one class left but I was able to participate in the graduation ceremony on this past Saturday. It was such an exciting feeling to finally be able to say that “yes! I did that” I worked my butt off for all those years and finally made it. It went by so quick though. So to all my nongraduates, make sure to enjoy every second of your college experience, make new friends, create memories, and don’t take everything so seriously because all of that will come to an end one day. 

 

By the way, let me know down in the comments if you are a big office fan and if you’d like to see a DIY post on how to make this awesome cap!

Now moving on to today’s recipe, for graduation a close friend of mine threw a party t celebrate. She ended up with too much cake leftover and all of it was going to go to the trash. Fortunately enough, she knew I had a few tricks up my sleeve and offered to just give it to me since she was traveling the next day anyway. At first, I was a little overwhelmed with all that cake… ( that thing weighed like 10 lbs haha)

 

Then I figured, why not make some cake pops/ cake balls out of all this leftover cake. It would be a great gift to give to people and I already have the most important part of the recipe. It took me a sec to peel off all that fondant but I made it after a while  and
ended up with this

The rest of this cake pop/cake ball recipe will be described below!

No More Waste Cake Balls Recipe

 

Prep Time 20 minutes

Total Time 1 hour and 30 minutes

Ingredients

leftover cake

Wilton candy melts

 

Directions

  1. First, start by putting your leftover cake in a bowl, scrape off some of the frosting, then mash it all together. Add a little bit of frosting if the dough is too dry.
  2. Take about a Tablespoon of the mixture and roll it into a ball, then place that on a large pan that you can put in the freezer.95522386-af98-442a-9e46-a5f03162e42c
  3. Place the truffles in the freezer for 15-30 minutes to make sure the crumbs are not going to be falling in your melted chocolate.
  4. Put the candy melts in a bowl and melt them in 30 seconds increments in the microwave. This will allow you to make sure that you are not burning the candy coating. (you might need to repeat the process twice or three times)
  5. Pull out the truffles from the freezer and dip them in the chocolate/candy mixture. Let them sit for a couple of minutes then drizzle a different color on top for looks!

cake truffles cake balls no more leftover cake

  1. E N J O Y!

 

Feel free to pin this to save it for the next time you have some leftover cake!

img_2537

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.